Gallery

Weight Loss Challenge Or Life Journey?

How many times have you joined a weight loss challenge and loss weight only to gain it right back after the challenge was over?  Probably countless number of times right? You find yourself dieting and eating foods that you know you will not stick with and they taste disgusting.  So days into the challenge or maybe a few hours, you might have given up because the demands of the diet are out of reach compared to your normal eating habits.  Let’s get this straight.  Your diet is what you eat.   It’s not about going on these loose weight quick fads to loose weight. It’s all about how true you stay to yourself and your regular eating habits.
Don’t get me wrong, you will have to adjust your diet, but in your timing.  You have to be the one who is ready for change.  Take baby steps, start squeezing out one bad habit at a time.  For instance, if you love to add cheese to everything you eat, try cutting back on the portion of cheese that you add.  Try removing a few of the bad things in your diet out one at a time.  Let your challenge begin with that.

Last October I decided I wanted to loose 40lbs.  Have I loss my 40lbs yet? No.  I am now down 22lbs, but I took my journey slow.  I begin by exercising at least 4 days a week for about an hour.  My weight didn’t budge for months, but I was loosing inches.  I loss about 6″ in my waist within the first few months.  I was so excited to see myself slimming but I remained mad at the scale.  You may be wondering, why didn’t she loose weight?  The answer is simple, I continued to keep my old eating habits and I was just maintaining the weight that I had.

About six months into hard sweat and tears of pushing hard through my Tae Bo workouts, I finally made up in my mind that I had to adjust my eating habits.  When I decided to change my eating habits, I challenged myself to start with a 5 day detox of nothing but oats, fruits, veggies and nuts.  By the end of the 5 days I was down about 5 or 6lbs.   From that day forward I knew that I could control what I ate because I was mentally ready.  Because I was ready to change, I am now down 22lbs with 18 more to go to my ideal weight goal.  I am more energetic and healthier than ever before.  It took me  a year to get where I am, but I realized that it’s not about weight loss challenges, it’s about a life journey and discipline.  So, give your body time and you will see results.  Sometimes it may take months to see those pounds go because your metabolism may have slowed and need to get back in order.

I encourage you, whatever it is that you so desire to do, YOU CAN DO IT!!! It may take time to get there and it will. BE PERSISTENT!!!! BE HUMBLE!!!! BE COMMITTED!!!! REMAIN FAITHFUL!!!!
Look at me now :_)

Leave a Reply

